2024 DIVIDE COUNTY BURN BAN DESCRIPTIONSPlease contact your local
Fire Chief, Sheriff's office or Emergency Management before any controlled burn.

The Divide County BURN BAN is in effect any time the fire danger rating is VERY HIGH, EXTREME or the National Weather Service has issued a RED FLAG WARNING. 

Photo of the Divide County Courthouse

Divide County is a dynamic community in northwest North Dakota. Our northern border is Saskatchewan, Canada, our western border is Montana, and we are bordered on the east and south by Burke and Williams Counties. The county seat is located in Crosby and the other incorporated communities are Ambrose, Fortuna, and Noonan.

Divide County has historically been a rural, agricultural community with the bulk of the local economy based on our farmers and ranchers. Recently, the expansion of oil and gas exploration and production in the Bakken and Three Forks formations has diversified the local economy.  After a several decades of emigrating population, Divide County experienced a net immigration of more than 15% and has now stabilized with a population of slightly more than 2400.

Divide County, ND | All Rights Reserved | Powered by CivicLive | © 2024 Civiclive.